which god

WHICH GOD

 

To which god do I pray to help me remember?

I don’t want to harass, I don’t want to encumber.

Just tell me to which god do I have to surrender

So I could see his face and hear his laughter.

We loved a long time ago somewhere.

Oh! If only I could remember.

 

To which god do I pray to help me forget

Each shared walkway and sunset,

Little things that caused upset?

I’d rather much remember the better times instead.

So which god will teach me to forget?

 

To which god do I pray to help me bear the pain

Of broken promises, of dubious gain?

Which god for winning and losing?

Which god for coping and crashing?

Which god for living and dying?

And then you told me to search within

And that it was already mine for the taking.

 

—–Blesilda Ragasa Carmona

Leave a Reply

